Life recently with toddler Jolene

Hola! Happy New Year all! I know it’s late, but I wish you guys whoever read this will have a hopeful new year and life full of peace and joy everyday.

This exact post I write for remembering how happy I am with toddler Jolene. I wrote how frustrated I was earlier, you can read in my older post. Jolene used to cry for no reason at the middle of the night or woke up at 4 am in the morning. Thank God those dark times are gone. Remember Mamas out there, ”these too shall pass” mantra hahaha. She now sleeps through the night peacefully 8 to 9 hours straight. Sleeping quality matters, it makes everyone happy, rightttt?

She is now 2 years and 4 months happy and healthy. I did ask my husband if he feels the same, but he is just say okay (meh!). I think because Jolene stays with me 24 hours so it really make a huge difference.

I would say the huge difference is that now can interact well with me. When she wants something she will ask me : to eat, to play, to pee/poo, even to sleep and to pray. The last thing got us surprised. It was only a week after her preschool started, when we were about to sleep she asked us to pray! DANG! We’ve never prayed together before sleeping together at all, so that time gave me and husband a shock. We’ve been praying every night ever since. God really does amazing things.

The interaction gets much better every day. When I ask her to do something, like to wait patiently she will do it (okay, not every time, but most of the time). She learns to choose between things, like what clothes she wants to wear, yes she now can say no to my choice of clothes for her. She also learns simple manner. When I give her something she will say : thank you, and sometimes when she does something that upset me she will say : sorry. When I sneeze she will say : bless you! Ah how sweet my girl is.

Toddler Jolene when going outside is another thing. Sometimes she just too shy to meet new people, she will ask us (me or my husband) to carry her or she just hides behind us. The good thing is she doesn’t cry anymore. She needs time to warm up a lil bit. And we think it’s okay, people need to be aware first to stranger, right? In 5-10 minutes she will be observing that new people, knowing there is no harm and then ready to make friends.

I think other than us parents who teach her in daily basis, the credit is going to her preschool. It was one big decision that I am really grateful we made last year to sign her in. She is learning how to be more social from preschool, that life is not about her and her parents, but there are other people.

I grow my heart fuller each day because of her. I treasure this timeline of my life so much, I can not say thank You enough to God. Please stay healthy and happy, my big girl!

Leave a comment